The Arc of North Carolina is a leader in the state in providing housing options and property management services to North Carolinians with disabilities.

Through our Housing Resource Coordinators (contact information below), The Arc provides assistance to people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (I/DD) and their families in locating housing that meets their needs. 

The Arc of North Carolina believes that all people should be empowered to live in accessible, affordable housing in inclusive communities of their choosing. Since 1978, in an effort to provide alternatives to large institutions, The Arc of North Carolina has developed over 342 residences that are operated in partnership with local organizations. These residences include group homes, small apartment buildings, duplexes and condominiums, together serving more than 2200 residents. Through the housing program, The Arc of North Carolina has helped countless individuals with I/DD move from housing that is more restrictive to homes where they can achieve greater independence and have more opportunities.

For housing resources, please check out our Housing Resource Guide. This guide is designed to help people with intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families find housing that meets their needs and fulfills their dreams.


Fill out my online form.

Housing Resources Statewide

For vacancies and more information, please go to the HOUSING AVAILABILITY LIST or call 704-564-1964.

Eastern Region

Serving: Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrell, Washington, Wayne and Wilson Counties

Southern Piedmont and Western Region

Serving: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Davidson, Davie, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Polk, Randolph, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Watauga, Wilkes and Yancey Counties

Central Region

Serving: Alamance, Anson, Caswell, Chatham, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Orange, Person, Richmond, Rockingham, Stokes, Surry, Vance, Wake, and Warren Counties